Nominations are now open for the 9th Brookline Youth Awards. The Brookline Youth Awards is an opportunity for Brookline residents to hear about the character, challenges, and dreams of its young people as well as adults dedicated to their success, through the power and intimacy of video interviews. The goal of the event is to level the playing field for all teens that either live in Brookline or go to school in Brookline.

The Youth Awards are held annually at the Coolidge Corner Theatre, Thanks to the generosity of the Coolidge, there is no admission charge. This year’s event will be held on April 10, 7 – 9 pm.

Nominations for the 9th Brookline Youth Awards begin on January 7 and run through February 25 at Noon.

The process to nominate an outstanding teen is open to everyone including teachers, administrators, guidance counselors, students, residents, local nonprofits and business owners. Essays are submitted to a nomination committee which consists of BHS school administration, teachers, guidance counselors, the Office of Diversity, Inclusion and Community Relations, past Brookline Youth of the Year recipients, representatives from Steps to Success and Brookline Teen Center, as well as a cross-section of Brookline government, business and resident leaders.

There is no specific set of criteria for receiving an award. Anyone in the community who would like to submit a nomination is asked to write an essay about a student that person believes is worthy of emulation. There are no barriers to be eligible for an award other than the recipient must either live in or go to school in Brookline. Past recipients have been recognized for their outstanding achievements, courage overcoming adversity or helping others do the same, displaying exceptional kindness, character, and generosity of spirit.

The Brookline Youth Awards have recognized over 425 students, each having traveled their own unique path to recognition.

Nominate a Deserving Teen Now Here!

The nomination committee recognizes students in two award categories – Youth Award and Recognition Award. The nomination committee will also determine the 2019 Brookline Youth of the Year.

Past Brookline Youth of the Year Recipients
2011 recipient, Lesly Suriel Guerrero
2012 recipient, Catherine Marris
2013 recipient, Ben Hoff
2014 recipient, Shirley Estime
2015 recipient, Gavin Hui
2016 recipient, Caroline Cutlip
2017 recipient, Anita Mayfield-Sheehan
2018 recipient, Sabrina Zhou

2019 recipient, TBD

The Brookline Youth Awards also recognize the achievements of adults who go the extra mile for young people through the following awards.

Roger Grand Social Justice Award
2012 recipient, Roger Grande
2013 recipient, Kathryn Leslie
2014 recipient, Paul Epstein
2015 recipient, Pat Norling
2016 recipient, Rene Feuerman
2017 recipient, Malcolm Cawthorne
2018 recipient, Margo Strom, and Elisabeth Dopazo

2019 recipient, TBD

Ethel Weiss Service Award
2014 recipient, Ethel Weiss
2015 recipient, Chobee Hoy
2016 recipient, Dana Brigham
2017 recipient, Rene Feuerman
2018 recipient, Elias Audy

2019 recipient, TBD

Suriel Guerrero Parent of the Year Award
2017 recipients, Altagracia Guerrero, and Mariano Suriel
2018 recipient, Ginny Vas

2019 recipient, TBD

The Brookline Youth Awards is founded and hosted by Principal Sponsors include The Town of Brookline, Brookline Community Foundation, Brookline Bank, The Hamilton Company Charitable Foundation, ADW Video Productions, and the Coolidge Corner Theatre.