The Brookline Youth Awards will celebrate its 10th year on June 17 at 7 pm. The event held every year at the Coolidge Corner Theatre will be held virtually this year. The 10th Brookline Youth Awards will recognize 84 students and will also acknowledge six adults who have inspired the Brookline community for their roles as parents, business leaders, or social justice advocates.

The Youth Awards has honored close to 600 students, producing more than 160 student video interviews over the past ten years.

The Brookline Youth Awards is an opportunity for Brookline residents to hear about the character, challenges, and dreams of its young people as well as adults dedicated to their success, through the power and intimacy of video interviews.

This year’s recipients are being recognized for their outstanding in-school and out-of-school achievements, courage overcoming adversity, or helping others do the same, displaying exceptional kindness, character, and generosity of spirit.

Brookline Town Administrator Mel Kleckner will address all the 2020 honorees with a special video message. The evening will include the announcement of the Brookline Youth of the Year Finalists and the 2020 Brookline Youth of the Year.

Stay tuned for a link to the 10th Brookline Youth Awards and a list of the 84 students who will be honored on June 17.

The 10th Brookline Youth Awards will recognize the following adults

2020 Roger Grande Social Justice Award Honoree: Bobbie Knable

The award, introduced in 2012, is named after a transcendent BHS teacher, goes out to an adult who inspires and affects young people in the area of social justice. Past recipients include Roger Grande, Kate Leslie, Paul Epstein, Pat Norling, Rene Feuerman, Malcolm Cawthorne, Margot Strom & Elisabeth Dopazo, and Rob Daves.

Ethel Weiss Service Award Honorees: Sandy Gladman, Marcie Brawer, and Ilene Epstein – The Studio

The award, introduced in 2014, named after Ethel Weiss, who ran Irving’s Toy & Card shop for over 76 years, honors a businessperson who goes the extra mile for young people. Past recipients include Ethel Weiss, Chobee Hoy, Dana Brigham, Abe Faber, Christy Timon, Elias Audy, and Bo Winiker.

Suriel Guerrero Parent of the Year Award: Misty and Sean Jaynes

The award, introduced in 2017, is named after Altagracia Guerrero and Mariano Suriel. Immigrants to the United States just a short time ago, the Suriel Guerrero family has gone on to become pillars of the Brookline community. In 2018, Ginny Vas became the second recipient of the award, and the 2019 honorees were Elizabeth & Boniface Mande.

Highlight Video from past Brookline Youth Award recipients

Compilation of Youth Award Video Interviews from 2016 – 2019

The Brookline Youth Awards is founded and hosted by Sponsors include The Town of Brookline, Brookline Community Foundation, Brookline Bank, Foundation To Be Named Later, The Hamilton Company Charitable Foundation, Brookline Rotary, ADW Video Productions, the Coolidge Corner Theatre, RTN Federal Credit Union, The Law Offices of Robert Allen Jr. LLP, The Law Offices of Susan Howards, Elias Mobil, The Blakely Group, Viking Sports, Eureka! Puzzles, the Coolidge Corner Merchants Associations, Brookline Dental Associates, Sotheby’s International Realty, Chobee Hoy Group Compass, Little Children’s Schoolhouse, Rifrullo Café, Brookline Interactive Group, Goldstein and Herndon, LLP, Brookline Courtyard Marriott, Brookline Booksmith, Irving’s Toy and Card Shop, Metro Realty, Airo Sports, and the Coolidge Corner Theatre.

Thanks to the generosity of the Coolidge Corner Theatre, this event was held free at the theatre from 2011 to 2019. The organizers of the Brookline Youth Awards look forward to returning to the Coolidge when the theatre reopens.

Contact for information on sponsoring this year’s event.