The Brookline Youth Awards will be celebrating its 10th year on April 14 at the Coolidge Corner Theatre. For the last nine years, the event has honored more than 500 students, screening approximately 135 student video interviews at the Coolidge. The Youth Awards have also recognized 20 adults who have inspired young people, as well as their community, either in their roles as parents, business leaders or social justice advocates.

The Brookline Youth Awards is an opportunity for Brookline residents to hear about the character, challenges, and dreams of its young people, as well as adults dedicated to their success, through the power and intimacy of video interviews.

Anyone in the community who would like to submit a nomination is asked to write an essay about a student that person believes is worthy of emulation. There is no specific set of criteria for receiving an award. There are also no barriers to be eligible for an award other than the recipient must either live in or go to school in Brookline.

Past recipients have been recognized for their outstanding in-school and out-of-school achievements, courage overcoming adversity or helping others do the same, displaying exceptional kindness, character, and generosity of spirit.

Nominations for the 10th Brookline Youth Awards will be accepted online until March 2

Last April, the event recognized 83 students and four outstanding adults. Richard Desir became the 2019 Brookline Youth of the Year. Also at the event, Elizabeth & Boniface Mande received the 3rd Suriel Guerrero Parent of the Year Award, Bo Winiker was honored with the 6th Ethel Weill Service Award and Rob Daves became the 8th recipient of the Roger Grande Social Justice Award.

State Representative Tommy Vitolo delivered the 2019 keynote address. As she had done the previous 2 years, Sen. Elizabeth Warren delivered a one-minute video address. The teen rock band Tomtsu performed, there was a vocal performance by Vishni Samaraweera, and slam poetry performances by Naomi Mirny and Yingzi (Cherry) Xian.

Videos from 2019 Brookline Youth Award Recipients

Richard Desir – 2019 Brookline Youth of the Year

Elizabeth & Boniface Mande – 2019 Suriel Guerrero Parent of the Year

Rob Daves – 2019 Roger Grande Social Justice Award

Bo Winiker – 2019 Ethel Weiss Social Service Award

Compilation of Youth Award Video Interviews from 2016 – 2019

The Brookline Youth Awards is founded and hosted by Principal sponsors include The Town of Brookline, Brookline Community Foundation, Brookline Bank, The Hamilton Company Charitable Foundation, ADW Video Productions, and the Coolidge Corner Theatre. Thanks to the generosity of the Coolidge, there is no admission charge.