The Brookline Youth Awards will be celebrating its 14th Year on May 20. For the last 13 years, the event has honored more than 860 students, screening approximately 190 student video interviews at the Coolidge. The Youth Awards have also recognized 30 adults over the years who have inspired young people and their community, either in their roles as parents, business leaders, or social justice advocates.

The Brookline Youth Awards is an opportunity for Brookline residents to hear about the character, challenges, and dreams of its young people, as well as adults dedicated to their success, through the power and intimacy of video interviews. The Brookline Youth Awards is open to all students between 13 and 19 who live in or go to school in Brookline. This awards event recognizes that we are embarking on our own journey and must hurdle our unique challenges.

Anyone in the community who would like to submit a nomination is asked to write an essay about a student that person believes is worthy of emulation. There is no specific set of criteria for receiving an award. There are also no barriers to being eligible for an award other than the recipient must either live in or go to school in Brookline.

Past recipients have been recognized for their outstanding in-school and out-of-school achievements, courage in overcoming adversity or helping others do the same, and displaying exceptional kindness, character, and generosity of spirit.

Nomination Form

Last April 2023, the event recognized 80 students and three outstanding Adults.

Yutian (Tina) Li became the 2023 Brookline Youth of the Year.

Lloyd Gellineau was recognized with the Brookline Social Justice Award.

David Leschinsky of Eureka! Puzzles received the Ethel Weis Service Award.

The Brookline Youth Awards is founded and hosted by

Principal Sponsors include The Town of Brookline, Brookline Community Foundation, Brookline Bank, Brookline Rotary, Foundation To Be Named Later, The Hamilton Company Charitable Foundation, ADW Video Productions, and the Coolidge Corner Theatre.